It's 1345 local and I'm anchored outside the breakwater at
San Jose Del Cabo...
The charts show me a mile inland and I don't have a depth
plan for the harbor so I anchored and sent Joe and Danny into the harbor in the
rib to check things out...with no valid chart, I don't want to end up on the
beach within a month of our departure...one of the drawbacks of a boat that
draws 9'...
Joe and Danny will decide whether we stay out here at anchor
or get a slip...since I don't have a schematic of the harbor, I'm assuming
there's no anchoring inside...but I suppose I could be pleasantly surprised.
Were anchored about 150m from a shrimper...but I don't see
any dinghy on board...if I see any signs of life, I'm going to try to trade
some of Manny's T-shirts for some shrimp...this could turn out ok!
Part
2:
OK...Jose
and Danny just returned...it's $50 to tie up to the dock no water or
electricity...so we're going to stay anchored out and take off for Los Frailes
tomorrow...we plan to hit all the decent anchorages on the way up the coast.
We
got up early this morning as we had made plans to meet Jamie for breakfast at
0800 at Cabo Cantina...Jamie was a no show so Jose and Danny did their internet
thing and then we headed to the super mercado so Danny could get some jelly to
make his peanut butter palatable...we then jetted back to WWV and were underway
by 1000 planning on trying to find SJDC anchorage/marina if it existed and
heading on to Los Frailes if nothing looked good. About 1230 a sailboat coming from the
mainland cut in front of us on a course to something that looked like a
breakwater so we followed him in and you know the rest.
Turns
out the controlling depth is 4m so we should have been ok, but since the charts
have me a mile inland, I'm just as happy sitting outside the breakwater on a
hook. No sooner had we set the hook than
a Mexican Navy patrol boat sped by and waved...I'm taking that as a good
sign...we're flying a full size Mexican flag...and that doesn't hurt...
I'm
making water as we sit here on the hook...it will take a couple of hours to
fill the tanks as I'm only making about 35 gal/hr because I don't want to put
too much stress on the membranes or the
pumps...We're going to break now for a brewski and probably head to the beach
for a dinner in one of the local restaurants (of which I hear there are two...)
No comments:
Post a Comment